The Hall of Fame

When you set up a Hall of Fame it is always hard to determine who should be in it and who shouldn't. Initially the list consisted of ten drivers and later five drivers. But when even then you can't decide between three people who should be in, you know you have two options. Either you discuss and come to a consensus or you decide on the few people noone doubts. Therefor the first version of the IIRS Hall of Fame will only hold three names. These three have made set the standard in IIRS and made IIRS to what it is. Noone will deny their place in IIRS history, although some will see their role different than we do.

Entry number one:
Jan Forsgren
Jan Forsgren has been for IIRS what Michael Schumacher has been for F1, setting record after record, many of them unlikely to be ever broken. Jan Forsgren came to the scene in 2000 and was named Rookie of the Year after recording six wins that year. He didn't win the championship, but made up for that the next years. 2002 and 2003 handed him two roadcourse titles and one oval title. At the end of 2003 Forsgren retired with a total of 56 IIRS wins.

Entry number two:
Diego Munoz
Diego Munoz took over as IIRS director after a eventful period. With new and diverse ideas he made a dwindling competition thrive once again. In a period that ICR2 was losing out on newer games like GPL and later on N2003 he still managed to have a solid series with 10 drivers regularly. Munoz as a driver was a solid finisher, but not much of a winner. He would be thrilled by a podium, but you could always find him in the top 5. Munoz retired in 2004 after becoming father in 2003, handing over the directors duties to Sander Maas in 2004.

Entry number three:
Sander Maas
Sander Maas took over from Diego Munoz in 2004, to direct the IIRS for five years. During his directorship IIRS became bigger and bigger, ultimately running the 500th IIRS race on Indianapolis with a 34 car field. After a semi retirement season in 2009 he has handed over the directorship to John Howlett and focused on racing fulltime. Maas is an 8 time Oval champion and 1 time Roadcourse champion and 11 time IIRS team champion with the legendary Salas Racing Team. The Salas rule, to finish high, you first have to start, makes it almost logigal Maas has more than 200 IIRS starts at his name. A total of 55 wins makes him second in the winlist and he hungers for more.

On a yearly basis the IIRS director and the Advisory Board will decide on new entrants.

John Howlett
IIRS Director