(12-21-2020, 09:35 AM)samsepi0l Wrote: [ -> ]I tried working with objects in OPE tonight using a game controller to place them. I see why it is much easier. One thing I notice is that OPE tends to crash for me many times. I think that if I had to sit down one time and add all of my objects it would be impossible because it would crash too often. Is it possible somehow to get the text information from where and how you are placing your objects so I can just include it in the 3d text file?
After you save your .3D file in OPE, you can open it in a text editor, and your objects are right at the beginning with all the coordinates (one line for each object). You can save it into a separate text file and insert it later again into the .3D file, if necessary.
You also need to note, from where they are visible. This comes as next in the .3D file. At first the left side objects for each track subsegment, and than the right side objects.
Lately I have been spending more time on a computer that isn't hooked up to my joystick. So I've figured out an alternate way to place objects:
1) Load the object in OPE as usual but leave it where it is by default. Save and exit.
2) Run a 3D23DO on the track.3d to generate the track.3do
3) Open the track.3do in 3DOEd
4) Use 3DOEd to move the object around by manually changing the coordinates and rotation. Sometimes I prefer doing this vs OPE because I can get things in a more precise location, especially with things like brake markers - typically I find a point along a fence where I want the brake marker and type it in. No guessing about its location like in OPE.
5) I make note of the coordinates and rotation and then edit the .3d file as Dennis described.
6) You can also go back in OPE and have it recalculate the object drawing order. It's in the F1 menu, I believe.
This is slightly off topic but I came across a group who is still building tracks for NR2003.
http://bb-mc.co/
I love how they say "Our goal is to find the limits of the Papyrus racing engine while producing the most authentic and beautiful environments we can."
I want to say we have the same goal for ICR2.
(04-02-2020, 05:58 AM)checkpoint10 Wrote: [ -> ]I'm on GIMP 2.8 as well - Windows 10 but it should be the same cross-platform. Here's the process I follow.
To save a palette (say for example sunny.pcx):
1) Open sunny.pcx
2) Go to the "Palettes" window (not "Colormap" or "Palette Editor")
3) The first palette is probably the palette of the sunny.pcx you just opened. It'll be called "Colormap of Image #6" or something like that.
4) Right click on that palette and select "Duplicate palette"
5) You can now rename that duplicate palette to something like "ICR2 palette" or whatever.
Then, let's say you've got some image that you need to convert to ICR2 palette.
1) Make sure the image is in RGB mode first. Image > Mode > RGB
2) Then Image > Mode > Indexed...
3) A dialog will appear. Select "Use custom palette" and find the "ICR2 palette" you saved in the above process
4) Uncheck the box for "Remove unused colors from colormap"
5) Now you save it with File > Export...
6) Assuming you will use WinMip. So you need to save as a .bmp and then under Compatibility Options, check the box for "Do not write color space information"
7) The file should now be able to open in WinMip (either v1 or v2)
Today I made a file that was 16pixels x 160 pixels called "NISSAN.mip".
I wanted to put this in section zero.
I added the following to the top of the TAMIAMI.MRK file:
MARK_V1
0 0.000
ad0: boundary 2 "nissan.mip" <255,0> - <0,15>
0 0.200
end ad0
is OPE supposed to load the MIPs and show me what they will look like in the game? I am worried that I am doing something wrong here.
(01-09-2021, 08:04 AM)samsepi0l Wrote: [ -> ] (04-02-2020, 05:58 AM)checkpoint10 Wrote: [ -> ]I'm on GIMP 2.8 as well - Windows 10 but it should be the same cross-platform. Here's the process I follow.
To save a palette (say for example sunny.pcx):
1) Open sunny.pcx
2) Go to the "Palettes" window (not "Colormap" or "Palette Editor")
3) The first palette is probably the palette of the sunny.pcx you just opened. It'll be called "Colormap of Image #6" or something like that.
4) Right click on that palette and select "Duplicate palette"
5) You can now rename that duplicate palette to something like "ICR2 palette" or whatever.
Then, let's say you've got some image that you need to convert to ICR2 palette.
1) Make sure the image is in RGB mode first. Image > Mode > RGB
2) Then Image > Mode > Indexed...
3) A dialog will appear. Select "Use custom palette" and find the "ICR2 palette" you saved in the above process
4) Uncheck the box for "Remove unused colors from colormap"
5) Now you save it with File > Export...
6) Assuming you will use WinMip. So you need to save as a .bmp and then under Compatibility Options, check the box for "Do not write color space information"
7) The file should now be able to open in WinMip (either v1 or v2)
Today I made a file that was 16pixels x 160 pixels called "NISSAN.mip".
I wanted to put this in section zero.
I added the following to the top of the TAMIAMI.MRK file:
MARK_V1
0 0.000
ad0: boundary 2 "nissan.mip" <255,0> - <0,15>
0 0.200
end ad0
is OPE supposed to load the MIPs and show me what they will look like in the game? I am worried that I am doing something wrong here.
Yes, OPE is supposed to show this. If you don't see the expected result, then you may have done something wrong. Here are some things I've noticed about what you posted:
- The image coordinates don't match your file. <255,0> is outside your image dimensions
- I don't think you need the ".mip". It seems to work without file extension.
- Boundary 2 would be the third wall from the right. If you want to put something on the right wall, it's Boundary 0. Left wall is usually Boundary 1 unless you have a pit lane.
- A texture going from 0.0 to 0.2 is going to be a pretty small part of the wall. Consider a longer texture file and maybe you won't have to make so many of these MRK entries.
(01-09-2021, 08:15 AM)checkpoint10 Wrote: [ -> ]Yes, OPE is supposed to show this. If you don't see the expected result, then you may have done something wrong. Here are some things I've noticed about what you posted:
- The image coordinates don't match your file. <255,0> is outside your image dimensions
- I don't think you need the ".mip". It seems to work without file extension.
- Boundary 2 would be the third wall from the right. If you want to put something on the right wall, it's Boundary 0. Left wall is usually Boundary 1 unless you have a pit lane.
- A texture going from 0.0 to 0.2 is going to be a pretty small part of the wall. Consider a longer texture file and maybe you won't have to make so many of these MRK entries.
I figured it out with a combination of your help and some common sense. I did not realize I had to remake the trk, 3d and 3do to get it to show up AFTER I made the changes to my text file...
but check it out... so realistic you would swear you were at the real tamiami!
![[Image: attachment.php?aid=1725]](https://www.icr2.net/forum/attachment.php?aid=1725)
Looking good! Great job with the wall.
(03-27-2020, 06:36 PM)Eddie500 Wrote: [ -> ]Here is the .mrk file (linked to .sg file) content how to from Pavel :
![[Image: 9dwYzvN.jpg]](https://i.imgur.com/9dwYzvN.jpg)
If I have some sections that use the same image, is it necessary to give them a different "ad0, ad1, ad2" number?
Also- I assume 'percent' % sign is OK to use as a comment in the MRK right?
(01-13-2021, 10:45 AM)samsepi0l Wrote: [ -> ]If I have some sections that use the same image, is it necessary to give them a different "ad0, ad1, ad2" number?
Also- I assume 'percent' % sign is OK to use as a comment in the MRK right?
1) No need. It can be same mip track all around.
2) Yes, % sign may be used as a comment. But if you will made changes in SGE then all comment marks will be removed from MRK file. So it always good to keep backup of it.