Forums

Full Version: Track editing progress notes
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
(12-13-2020, 12:21 AM)samsepi0l Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-10-2020, 04:58 PM)checkpoint10 Wrote: [ -> ]You can create one TSD entry that has the DLONG start before the corner and end after the corner, and OPE will automatically make it curve around the corner as in your first illustration. It won't cut straight across like your second illustration.

Thank you- I created this today, however I am having some problems drawing LATERAL lines on the track.

In several places I need to create lines that go sideways on the track, from one side to the other.  (sort of like drawing a start-finish line, but not at the start finish spot)  When I try and enter a lateral line in my TSD file the DLONG values for the starting and ending position are the same, this causes OPE to crash.  To avoid this crash, I figured I'd "cheat" by just changing the DLONG position only 1 value, like this:

% this is the sideways line going through the apex of t1
Detail: 37 9000 3045666 -110000 3045667 254000

Do you see how I only incremented the DLONG value by 1?  3045666 vs 3045667.  With this trick OPE does not crash any more, however I can't see the line in OPE. 

Does anyone know how to make lateral lines like this?  Is there a trick I don't know?  I've tried various thicknesses.
I didn't make TSDs till now, but I think, you could try this.

37 364000 3041166 72000 3050166 72000
(12-13-2020, 01:21 AM)Dennis Wrote: [ -> ]I didn't make TSDs till now, but I think, you could try this.

37 364000 3041166 72000 3050166 72000

Can you explain this? I don't understand. I thought the format of the text file was:

1) Color
2) Thickness
3) Start DLONG
4) Start DLAT
5) End DLONG
6) END DLAT
(12-13-2020, 02:52 AM)samsepi0l Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-13-2020, 01:21 AM)Dennis Wrote: [ -> ]I didn't make TSDs till now, but I think, you could try this.

37 364000 3041166 72000 3050166 72000

Can you explain this? I don't understand.  I thought the format of the text file was:

1) Color
2) Thickness
3) Start DLONG
4) Start DLAT
5) End DLONG
6) END DLAT

Think of it as a really fat line (thickness = width of your track) and the "width" of the line is really how far down the track it goes (around 2 ft/12000 units of DLONG). Your start and end DLATs should be the same (e.g. zero if you're drawing something like the start/finish line).
(12-13-2020, 03:13 AM)checkpoint10 Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-13-2020, 02:52 AM)samsepi0l Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-13-2020, 01:21 AM)Dennis Wrote: [ -> ]I didn't make TSDs till now, but I think, you could try this.

37 364000 3041166 72000 3050166 72000

Can you explain this? I don't understand.  I thought the format of the text file was:

1) Color
2) Thickness
3) Start DLONG
4) Start DLAT
5) End DLONG
6) END DLAT

Think of it as a really fat line (thickness = width of your track) and the "width" of the line is really how far down the track it goes (around 2 ft/12000 units of DLONG). Your start and end DLATs should be the same (e.g. zero if you're drawing something like the start/finish line).

OMG do I feel like a total nimrod right now - that was so easy, once it hit me like a load of bricks.
thanks - you guys are amazing...
[Image: attachment.php?aid=1711]

[attachment=1711]
(03-25-2020, 11:04 AM)checkpoint10 Wrote: [ -> ]I was able to bring in a 3DO from a default ICR2 track using this technique. This may not be the most efficient but it works.

1) Used the ICR2 to N2 converter to convert an entire track to N2.
2) Unpacked the N2 version. Noted that the filenames are lost in the N2 conversion - they will have filenames like _072.3do which is a little inconvenient, but using 3DOEd it is not too difficult to identify which 3DO is which.
3) Copied the 3DO file to my working folder, renaming the file to something friendly. Any MIP files should also be copied over.
4) Load the 3DO in OPE and add to the track as usual.

Because I have no joystick, I had a workaround to adjust and finetune the location and orientation of the object. At the top of the .3D file, there are lines that look like this:

__TSO0: DYNAMIC 8742105, -8728374, 150000, 900, 900, 900, 1, EXTERN "vanloop";

The numbers from left to right are:
Latitude
Longitude
Altitude
Rotation (spinning around up/down axis)
Rotation (pitch)
Rotation (roll)
Scale, usually 1. Decimal amounts to attempt to scale below 1 will work in OPE but do not work once converted to ICR2. So probably should keep it at 1.

Rotation units are in degrees * 10.

I am at the point where I am watching a youtube video of my track, and I am making notes where I need to put the grandstands. I figured I'd start with grandstands first, because there are already done many times in the default papyrus tracks and I should be able to steal them from those tracks. What is the easiest way to "browse" the grandstands that are available and figure out which ones I want to steal? I figured probably 3doEditor, but I've never used that program yet.
(12-14-2020, 05:38 PM)samsepi0l Wrote: [ -> ]
(03-25-2020, 11:04 AM)checkpoint10 Wrote: [ -> ]I was able to bring in a 3DO from a default ICR2 track using this technique. This may not be the most efficient but it works.

1) Used the ICR2 to N2 converter to convert an entire track to N2.
2) Unpacked the N2 version. Noted that the filenames are lost in the N2 conversion - they will have filenames like _072.3do which is a little inconvenient, but using 3DOEd it is not too difficult to identify which 3DO is which.
3) Copied the 3DO file to my working folder, renaming the file to something friendly. Any MIP files should also be copied over.
4) Load the 3DO in OPE and add to the track as usual.

Because I have no joystick, I had a workaround to adjust and finetune the location and orientation of the object. At the top of the .3D file, there are lines that look like this:

__TSO0: DYNAMIC 8742105, -8728374, 150000, 900, 900, 900, 1, EXTERN "vanloop";

The numbers from left to right are:
Latitude
Longitude
Altitude
Rotation (spinning around up/down axis)
Rotation (pitch)
Rotation (roll)
Scale, usually 1. Decimal amounts to attempt to scale below 1 will work in OPE but do not work once converted to ICR2. So probably should keep it at 1.

Rotation units are in degrees * 10.

I am at the point where I am watching a youtube video of my track, and I am making notes where I need to put the grandstands.  I figured I'd start with grandstands first, because there are already done many times in the default papyrus tracks and I should be able to steal them from those tracks.  What is the easiest way to "browse" the grandstands that are available and figure out which ones I want to steal?  I figured probably 3doEditor, but I've never used that program yet.

Unpack all the default tracks and use 3DOEd on the track.3do. If you click on the object, you can learn which 3do it is. Usually it's something like stand.3do but I believe it varies depending on track.

I used this method for a while until I actually felt it was better to create my own grandstands in order to have control over their size. Let me know when you get to that point and we can get you up to speed on creating your own (simple) objects.
(12-14-2020, 06:12 PM)checkpoint10 Wrote: [ -> ][
Unpack all the default tracks and use 3DOEd on the track.3do. If you click on the object, you can learn which 3do it is. Usually it's something like stand.3do but I believe it varies depending on track.

I used this method for a while until I actually felt it was better to create my own grandstands in order to have control over their size. Let me know when you get to that point and we can get you up to speed on creating your own (simple) objects.

Thank you for your suggestions. I am at a point where I have read your posts and Pavel's posts so many times. When I read them over and over I think about them so hard that it makes my head spin. I am pretty much happy with the lines I made for my TSD's - that was pretty easy. I did notice that sometimes when I load OPE and load the TSD file OPE may freeze as I am going north, south, east, west with the home/insert/delete/end buttons. I tried to go in with "low resolution mode" by entering command "OPE TAMIAMI /L" and this seems to work better.
Is there a trick to getting 3DOED to "View Centre" consistently? Most of the time it seems when I click on an object to "pan" the view to the center of this object the option to "view centre" is greyed out.
(12-14-2020, 07:23 PM)samsepi0l Wrote: [ -> ]Is there a trick to getting 3DOED to "View Centre" consistently?  Most of the time it seems when I click on an object to "pan" the view to the center of this object the option to "view centre" is greyed out.

I have better luck with View Center when I try to center it on a point. Wireframe view might help you see this.