Nice work, it looks really helpful for all, who want to start track editing.
(03-25-2020, 10:17 PM)checkpoint10 Wrote: [ -> ]I would appreciate any feedback or corrections from the masters!
I don't see me as a master, but I try my best.
(03-25-2020, 10:17 PM)checkpoint10 Wrote: [ -> ]What does this mean for scratch built tracks? As far as I know, OPE for some reason does not allow you to save the locations of TSOs, so if for some reason you have to rebuild the SG, TRK and 3D files again, you lose all the TSO information unless you go through the above process to save the list inserts in 3DOEd etc.
You can do it also like this.
Save your old .3D file and put it in a different folder.
Make your changes in your track, build the files and open the track in OPE.
Place an object in OPE and save the track. This will create the object list in the .3D file.
Replace the object list in the new .3D file with the object list of the old .3D file, and make a new .3DO file. The object list is located at the beginning of the .3D file. The first part is the list of the objects with their positions
(__TSO0: DYNAMIC 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, EXTERN "hill1"
, the second part the list of the track sections, with the visible objects from each section
(ObjectList_R22_0: LIST {__TSO0, __TSO1}).
If you don't change the layout in SGE, you can replace both parts. If you change the layout, then you may have a different count of track sections, so you can only replace the first part, and you need to put in the object visibility manually.
(03-26-2020, 09:39 PM)checkpoint10 Wrote: [ -> ]The textures are defined in the .3D text file, but there are lines of code for possibly hundreds of walls, where it is not obvious which wall is where on the track, except that the walls are defined in sequence by track section, possibly from left to right.
I imagine one way to deal with this is to open the track.3DO file in 3DOEd, use that to discover which section I need a texture changed, and then go into the correct spot in the .3D file to make the edit before recompiling the .3DO.
It appears that each track section may be identified in the .3D file as a main track section and then a sub track section. For example, the sections right after the start/finish line may be "sec0_s0" and "sec0_s1", and then followed by "sec1_s0", "sec1_s1" and so on. It looks possible to figure out both of the section/sub-section numbers in 3DOEd if you click on any object or polygon associated with that track section.
There are 3 different datas, which show you the location.
Papy units
([< -4626288, 7467217, 24000 >],) are the same coordinates, which you can see in 3DOEd.
Section numbers and dlong values
(% Outputing section from dlong = 0 to dlong = 344256.) you can see in SGE, when you select a track section. The track sections in the .3D file are the same, as the track sections made in SGE. The number of subsections depends on the length of the track section. Short sections have only one subsection, long sections have more.
(03-26-2020, 09:39 PM)checkpoint10 Wrote: [ -> ]The other complication is that textures are reversed for the walls on the right side of the track, as seen in my screenshot. I wonder if it is easier to fix in the .3D file, or create texture files that are mirror images. The more elegant solution seems to be to fix it in .3D (to avoid duplication of texture files) but that would take additional coding. (Edit: As proof of concept, I manually flipped the textures on two of those wall textures, as you can see in the 2nd attachment. This process is not scaleable as I can't imagine having to do this hundreds of times.)
Perhaps I can write another Python script to parse and rewrite the .3D file to perform some basic functions like making all the walls the same texture, or flipping the texture coordinates for the walls on the right. However this would probably be a much bigger effort than my previous coding projects for ICR2.
I think, it makes much less effort, to make a mirrored image too.
To make all textures the same, you can make a text search in the .3D file for the the different texture names and replace all to the same.
(03-24-2020, 05:38 AM)checkpoint10 Wrote: [ -> ]- I have noticed that N3 Sandbox includes some default wall textures and ground textures (specifically sand) which are the wrong textures. So if you create a new track via N3 Sandbox it will look particularly bad until you manually fix those textures, including bringing in a horizon from another track.
You can also make your own textures and your unique horizon, just making new .MIP files of the same size like the originals. So you don't need to use the color palette of the source track, you can use your own.